2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> menu sidebar... separate code?
Locry
post Jan 28 2008, 07:51 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,824

hello... i'm fairly new with web design... so i don't really know some of the terms yet, so please bear with me.

my site is http://www.milsimxgames.com

my dillema is this: the center portion of the page is the content area... the left side is the menu of sorts...while the right side is the "team" boards...

now throughout most of the pages the left and right sides remain constant in terms of their "contents/(elements?)"...
everytime i wish to add to an element to the left or right side i find myself having to edit all the pages just so the left and right menus stay consistent.

is there a way to reference "outside" the pages so that i only have to edit one file/code?

the page uses a downloaded template... i just modified the graphics and such... i know it uses a css file (slowly getting the hang of it )...

how do i go about referencing the file if ever?

thanks. smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 28 2008, 07:56 PM
Post #2

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

Yes, but it must be done on the server (or before you upload the files). It can't be done with HTML. SSI is available on most servers and a nobraianer to use for this. Take a look at it.
http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#include-file
User is offlinePM
Locry
post Jan 28 2008, 08:01 PM
Post #3

wow, thanks for the quick reply. smile.gif will check it out. thanks!
User is offlinePM
Locry
post Jan 28 2008, 08:03 PM
Post #4

hehehehe... i'm lost... i think i should just edit all the pages manually. smile.gif brute-force. smile.gif is this how some sites do it? brute-force i mean...
User is offlinePM
Darin McGrew
post Jan 28 2008, 08:11 PM
Post #5

WDG Member

Group: Root Admin
Member No.: 3