The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> JavaScript opening and ending scripts
ShadowyBob
post Oct 23 2006, 07:12 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Peterborough, UK
Member No.: 354



Apologies if this has been asked before, but can't think of a suitable search keyword.

Can someone please explain what the purpose of the following at the start of an html page is:
CODE
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

function SymError()
{
  return true;
}

window.onerror = SymError;

var SymRealWinOpen = window.open;

function SymWinOpen(url, name, attributes)
{
  return (new Object());
}

window.open = SymWinOpen;

//-->
</script>

and the following at the end of an html document:
CODE
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
var SymRealOnLoad;
var SymRealOnUnload;

function SymOnUnload()
{
  window.open = SymWinOpen;
  if(SymRealOnUnload != null)
     SymRealOnUnload();
}

function SymOnLoad()
{
  if(SymRealOnLoad != null)
     SymRealOnLoad();
  window.open = SymRealWinOpen;
  SymRealOnUnload = window.onunload;
  window.onunload = SymOnUnload;
}

SymRealOnLoad = window.onload;
window.onload = SymOnLoad;

//-->
</script>


and why?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 27 2006, 12:43 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Sym is for Symantec.
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nip.n...src=bar_sch_nam

QUOTE
and why?

God knows. Maybe you can configure your firewall to stop doing this. Don't know.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ShadowyBob
post Oct 27 2006, 10:39 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 6-October 06
From: Peterborough, UK
Member No.: 354



Thanks pandy. I've been seeing this on a lot of web page sources and wondered what I was missing out on.

Now I know it's my own NAV doing it! But the link does show how to get rid of it, if I prefer not to block unwanted adverts...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
stjepan
post Oct 28 2006, 04:06 PM
Post #4


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 329
Joined: 15-October 06
From: zagreb, croatia
Member No.: 445



It's Norton's pop-up blocker, Norton Firewall inserts that code. You can solve it by turning off the Norton Ad Blocking.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2024 - 08:07 PM