The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Text under left table (links)
jazz vb
post Aug 26 2015, 06:05 PM
Post #1


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



Hello,

I would like to add one or two words, plain text nothing fancy, under the (classic?) left table with links. Not immediately straight under the last link, but a bit more downwards. I have tried everything I know (not a lot...) but nothing seems to work.

How can I do this?
Do you need any coding from my side?

Thanks,
Jazz
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 26 2015, 06:36 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(jazz vb @ Aug 27 2015, 01:05 AM) *

Do you need any coding from my side?


Yes, we do. Post the link to the page if possible. Otherwise paste the whole lot in here. All of the HTML and any CSS you may have.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 26 2015, 07:10 PM
Post #3


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



the site is www.despeeller.nl

Way down under the word 'Homepage', on the 'contact' page, I would like to add the following words like this:

BTW-nummer:
1234abcd
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 27 2015, 05:01 AM
Post #4


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



sorry, the direct link is http://www.despeeller.nl/contact.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 27 2015, 05:17 AM
Post #5


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Just add another <tr> and <td> element below the last table row and before the table closing element </table>.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 27 2015, 06:02 AM
Post #6


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



I added a few <tr> and <td> elements. a few, to push it more downwards. it does half the trick. what happens is that when I hover over the words, they disappear and come back again when I move the mouse away.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 27 2015, 08:32 AM
Post #7


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No, don't add new rows to push it down. CharlesEF meant you should add just one new row with the text you want. To push the text down you can add top padding to that cell.

HTML
<td style="padding-top: 2em">
The new line of text
</td>


That said, even if you use tables for layout it isn't necessary to use tables for everything and you certainly don't need a table cell for each item in the menu, but now it is as it is and it's easiest to build on what you have.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 27 2015, 09:56 AM
Post #8


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



I used the different tables because of the effects I wanted to create. Perhaps not necessary anyway, but I didn't know how to do it differently.

Regarding the issue, I deleted the tables and added what you advised. It works, but also here: if you hover over the words, they disappear (or letters turn black). When I move the mouse away, the words appear again. Also the area where this happens is bigger than with the extra tables.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 27 2015, 10:48 AM
Post #9


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You have to update the online webpage with the changes so we can see what's wrong.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 27 2015, 03:18 PM
Post #10


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



Dear helpers, I just updated the webpage...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 27 2015, 03:54 PM
Post #11


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



The text disappears because of your CSS for the td:hover. Also, you have an error with this line of markup:
CODE
<h1 class="contact">Cont(r)act?</h1>
Move it to below the <body> tag. And when you added your new text to the bottom you didn't add a <tr> opening or closing tag, you only added a <td> opening and closing tag. The CSS for td:hover will effect every table cell. You need to differentiate it from the other <td> tags. Or, just remove the CSS for td:hover.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 27 2015, 04:00 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 27 2015, 04:45 PM
Post #12


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



Removing the td:hover will make the font color go white. That's not good, because then the words are more difficult to read. And the word 'homepage' wont even be visible in its white area.

I moved all the h1's to below the bodytag. Thanks for the correction.

Also, I added the <tr> and </tr>, I hope I did that the right way.

Now I understand what happens with the words 'btw' and 'nummer' (btw stands for VAT in Dutch, by the way). When hovering over btw and nummer, it will make it black, like it does with the 4 links above. Does that mean I need to group the 4 links somehow and give them the hover command? Leaving the words btw and number just plane text?
If so, how do I do that? If not, removing the td:hover doesnt work.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 27 2015, 05:05 PM
Post #13


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You don't need to remove it. You just need to make it match the TDs you want it to match and not others. With that rule you are changing the color on hover for every TD on your site.

Change this
CODE
td:hover {
  color:black;  
  }

to
CODE
td.menu:hover {
  color:black;  
  }


Then add class="menu" to each TD you want to be affected by this rule. No other TDs will be affected.

I wouldn't do it like this given a choice, but that's how to do it without changes to the HTML structure.

If you want you can change the background with CSS as well. But you should definitely use real links instead of the JS redirection you have now. You don't need JavaScript at all actually.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Aug 27 2015, 05:13 PM
Post #14


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,981
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Maybe you can override the CSS by using onMouseover="this.bgColor='#FD6129';" like you have on other cells? Just pick a different color.
I think pandy's idea is better.

This post has been edited by CharlesEF: Aug 27 2015, 05:15 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 28 2015, 08:40 AM
Post #15


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



pandy's solution worked! I uploaded the new data to the website and all is working as I wished.

As I do not know a lot about html, I asked for help to get the effects I wanted. I built the site with the answers I got from several forums. A related question: is Javascript never necessary anymore?

pandy and CharlesEF, many thanks for helping me out!! I am very happy with the result.

Kind regards,
Jazz
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Aug 28 2015, 11:27 AM
Post #16


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
is Javascript never necessary anymore?
Necessary for what?

There are some effects that require JavaScript. And it's useful for pre-validating information entered into a form (but has never been a substitute for proper validation of form data on the server).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 28 2015, 02:49 PM
Post #17


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It isn't necessary for simple mouseovers. But you already know that if you think about it because you change the background color with CSS.

When it comes to mouse triggered actions there is one thing that JS can do that CSS can't and that's when you want somthing to happen when something is clicked. There is no CSS equivalent to JavaScript's onclick event handler.

QUOTE
As I do not know a lot about html, I asked for help to get the effects I wanted. I built the site with the answers I got from several forum


I understand that and it's OK to build on what you have now. I just wanted to let you know there are better ways. You'll learn as you go.


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 28 2015, 02:50 PM
Post #18


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Oh, you should remove the JS redirects though and use real links. That's rather important.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jazz vb
post Aug 29 2015, 05:08 AM
Post #19


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-April 13
Member No.: 19,010



QUOTE
You'll learn as you go


I agree, that's why I asked.


QUOTE
Oh, you should remove the JS redirects though and use real links.


Is that the (e.g.) onclick="window.location='wie.html'" in all the td's? Does that apply to all the redirects/links? How do I change that?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Aug 29 2015, 07:51 AM
Post #20


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yep. Remove that and use a real link instead.
http://htmlhelp.com/reference/html40/special/a.html

Remove that bit altogether and use this instead.
HTML
<td class="menu" style="cursor:pointer;" onMouseover="this.bgColor='#FFFF6F';" onMouseout="this.bgColor='black'"><a href="wie.html">Wie</a></td>


Now the link text will get the default browser styling for links. It'll probably be blue and underlined. The best would be to move the text styling from TD to A, but if you just want to remove the browser styling and use what you already have for TD this would work.

CODE
.tablewie a   { text-decoration: none; color: inherit; background: inherit }


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 04:29 PM