The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HTML Email Forms Help, Im still pretty new to HTML.
rareops
post Jul 5 2008, 02:27 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 08
Member No.: 6,068



Well, heres my problem. Im new to HTML and I put together a small HTML website, just for this clan im with online. Well, im looking to get a HTML Email Form for people wanting to submit suggestions to the site. All I want it to do is the people to answer some questions and hit submit and it send it to my email.

So I found a script that does that and uses the mailto: command. The problem im running into is when people hit submit it either opens up Outlook or has an error. All I want it to do is send a straight email to me. I didn't think it would be that hard but obviously it is lol. Um, I talked to this one guy that said I could put another email that I dont use in the script somehow and it would just send it from that email to the email account that I actually want the forms to come to. If that makes sense lol. If someone would please help me out with this I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

Please remember that I am still fairly new to HTML so please just try to be patient with me. Thanks again...

Below is the current script im using, I hope you guys can help me:

QUOTE

<form action="mailto:synclan@yahoo.com?subject=New Applicant" method="post" enctype="text/plain">
<table><tr><td>

GamerTag: <INPUT NAME="GamerTag:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
Age: <INPUT NAME="Age:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
Prestige Level: <INPUT NAME="Prestige level:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
Accuracy %: <INPUT NAME="Accuracy %:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
K/D Ratio: <INPUT NAME="K/D Ratio:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
Fav. Weapon: <INPUT NAME="Fav. Weapon:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>
TimeZone: <INPUT NAME="TimeZone:" TYPE="text" SIZE=10><BR>

</td></tr>
<tr><td align=center>
<INPUT TYPE="submit" value="Submit" style="color: #ffffff; background-color: #000000">
</td></tr></table>
</FORM>

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 5 2008, 02:48 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry How do I get form data emailed to me?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rareops
post Jul 5 2008, 12:39 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 08
Member No.: 6,068



Okay, I checked through my hosting site which is geocities pro and they have a form thing on there. I am trying to use it and the following code but I keep getting an error. Maybe I deleted something when changing the text, but I don't think so. This is my 4th time editing it so maybe you guys can tell me what is missing. Again I really appreciate this...

By the way, this is the error people are getting:

QUOTE

"There was an error while processing your form input:

Incorrect request to userForms

Please go back and try again."


Below is the code I got from geocities pro, they said to edit the text to my liking, so I did. Maybe something is missing. Please help! Thanks...

QUOTE

<form method=post action="http://us.1.p2.geocities.yahoo.com/forms?login=synclan">
<table width=600 border=0 cellspacing=10 cellpadding=0>
<tr>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>GamerTag:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="GamerTag" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Email:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Email" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Date Of Birth:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Date Of Birth" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Prestige Level:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Prestige Level" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Accuracy Precentage:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Accuracy Precentage" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Kill/Death Ratio:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Kill/Death Ratio" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Favorite Weapon:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Favorite Weapon" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>TimeZone:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="TimeZone" size=25>
<br>
<font face=tahoma size=1>
<b>Reason For Applying:</b></font><br>
<input type=text name="Reason For Applying" size=25>
</td>
</tr>

<p>
<input type="submit" value="Apply">
<input type="reset" value="Reset">
</td>
</tr>
</table>

<!-- Option 1 -->
<input type="hidden" name="subject" value="New Applicant">

<!-- Option 2 -->
<input type="hidden" name="required_fields" value="Name,URL">

<!-- Option 3
<input type="hidden" name="next_url" value="http://clansyn.com/index.html">
-->

</form>


This post has been edited by rareops: Jul 5 2008, 12:42 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jul 5 2008, 12:53 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



I've never used GeoCities, but according to E-Mail Forms in GeoCities PageBuilder, that could mean that you haven't included a required field (Name and URL in your form). Since you don't have name="Name" or name="URL" fields, it's going to be pretty hard to include them.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 5 2008, 01:00 PM
Post #5


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Look what it says at the bottom of that page.

BEWARE!!! There are settings in many firewalls that can interfere with your ability to submit GeoCities E-mail forms.

For example, if you install Norton Internet Security (NIS) or Norton Personal Firewall (NPF) with the default options, fill out an E-mail form properly on a GeoCities site and press "Submit", you will receive an error message, such as:

Member Form Email

There was an error while processing your form input:

Incorrect request to userForms


To prevent this error, so that you will be able to submit GeoCities E-mail forms, see this page on the Symantec website. You will need to make sure that you have the site "yahoo.com" set for "Permit" in the "Information about visited sites" section.

Note that if you install a GeoCities email form on your site, and if any of your visitors have software such as Norton Internet Security and have just installed it with all the default settings, they will all get that same "Incorrect request to userForms" result, until they reconfigure their Norton installation as recommended above.

All these complications just add to the reasons to prefer an email form from a good third-party provider rather than using the standard GeoCities form.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jul 5 2008, 01:05 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Oops! Realized that isn't a geocites support page, so maybe a grain of salt is in order.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
rareops
post Jul 5 2008, 01:10 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-July 08
Member No.: 6,068



Okay thanks, I figure it out. I just removed

QUOTE

<!-- Option 2 -->
<input type="hidden" name="required_fields" value="Name,URL">


and now it works fine. thanks for all your help...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:13 AM