The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internet Explorer not reading my menu correctly, Gaps between individual menu items
ThinkPol
post Mar 2 2011, 10:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-March 11
Member No.: 14,032



If you view the site
http://www.PurePilatesNC.com
with Firefox and Chrome, everything looks 'right', but when viewed in Internet Explorer, there are gaps that appear between each element of the CSS/HTML menu at the top of the page. I can't figure out why. These gaps also cause some overhang of the table below and the image that locks in the right side of the menu.

I would appreciate any help you can give. Although it might sound a bit on the complain-y side, I am not a huge fan of accommodating IE! AH! lol

Take care, and thanks ahead of time
Cory
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ThinkPol
post Mar 2 2011, 11:01 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-March 11
Member No.: 14,032



Just to throw it out there and make life a little easier, the scripting for the menu table is:


<style media="all" type="text/css">@import "menu/menu_style.css";</style>
<style media="all" type="text/css">@import "menu/ie.css";</style>
<div class="nav">
<div class="table">
<ul class="select"><li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/whatispilates.html" target="_self"><b>About Pilates</b></a>
<div class="select_sub">
<ul class="sub">
<li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/history.html" target="_self">History</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/benefits.html" target="_self">Benefits</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</li>
</ul>
<ul class="select"><li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/instructors.html" target="_self"><b>Instructors</b></a>
</li>
</ul>
<ul class="select"><li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/takeaclass.html" target="_self"><b>Take a Class</b></a>
<div class="select_sub">
<ul class="sub">
<li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/apparatus.html" target="_self">Apparatus Classes</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/mat.html" target="_self">Mat Classes</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</li>
</ul>
<ul class="select"><li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/contact.html" target="_self"><b>Contact</b></a>
<div class="select_sub">
<ul class="sub">
<li><a href="mailto:kathryn@purepilatesnc.com" target="_self">Send an email</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.purepilatesnc.com/contact.html" target="_self">Contact Form</a></li>

</ul>
</div>
</li>
</ul>
</div>
</div>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Mar 3 2011, 03:07 AM
Post #3


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't have IE but you should start by fixing the markup errors reported by the validator:
http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/validate.c...s&input=yes
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ThinkPol
post Mar 3 2011, 09:23 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-March 11
Member No.: 14,032



I'll start there. Looks like I have some work to do.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
ThinkPol
post Mar 3 2011, 10:14 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-March 11
Member No.: 14,032



OK validator is pretty much settled. Thanks for bringing that awesome tool to my attention.
I still can't get this sucker fixed.
Good day to y'all!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:24 AM