The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Validator Problems
Oregon Girl
post Jan 16 2010, 03:03 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-January 10
Member No.: 10,848



Hello,

I have a website that a friend created for me, he no longer is able to help due to a new job. I have not been able to get very good SEO standings so I got software to help me out. This is how I found you. Originally when working with the validator program I only had 3 errors, but noticed that I did not have the Markup Language (I think that is what it is called) or this:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

The errors did not require that I have this but I thought it was important and added it anyway
but when I did it showed I had over 850 errors and 64 warnings!

You can view this at: http://www.strictlyeurope.com/alps_walk.html

I am overwhelmed and hope that there is someone who can direct me on how to fix this. My website is http://www.strictlyeurope.com.

I have taken a couple courses in Web Design but never learned coding, just the basics on DreamWeaver

Thank you!

NanC
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 16 2010, 05:38 PM
Post #2


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,403
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



In HTML case is of no importance. In XHTML all element and attribute names must be lower case. In HTML and XHTML Strict you can't use deprecated elements and attributes like for instance 'bgcolor'. No matter what doctype you use, you can't use proprietary stuff like 'topmargin' and so on. Well, you can, but it won't validate. wink.gif

You must have changed a lot more than the doctype. Even if you don't follow the lower case requirement of XHTML you do have the closing slashes, so you would get a lot of errors for that if you tried to validate as HTML. Basically you have to make your mind up. Either HTML ot XHTML, either Strict or Transitional.


QUOTE
I have not been able to get very good SEO standings so I got software to help me out


Watch it so you don't hurt yourself.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Oregon Girl
post Jan 16 2010, 06:40 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-January 10
Member No.: 10,848



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 16 2010, 05:38 PM) *

In HTML case is of no importance. In XHTML all element and attribute names must be lower case. In HTML and XHTML Strict you can't use deprecated attributes like for instance 'bgcolor'. No matter what doctype you use, you can't use proprietary stuff like 'topmargin' and so on. Well, you can, but it won't validate. wink.gif

You must have changed a lot more than the doctype. Even if you don't follow the lower case requirement of XHTML you do have the closing slashes, so you would get a lot of errors for that if you tried to validate as HTML. Basically you have to make your mind up. Either HTML ot XHTML, either Strict or Transitional.


QUOTE
I have not been able to get very good SEO standings so I got software to help me out


Watch it so you don't hurt yourself.


So let me see if I've got this right. My site is using both HTML and XHTML? Is there an uncomplicated way to change it all to one or the other? Could you recommend which would be better to use?

I take it it's all in the doctype that starts the page:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">


Would I just change all the XTHML or HTML, and vice versa?

Oh, and so far the SEO software is just helping me to choose keywords like on Google AdSense and introduced me to the validator. So hoping it won't hurt too much blink.gif

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jan 16 2010, 08:59 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,316
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Without the doctype, our validator assumes HTML 4.01 Transitional. That is a pretty good assumption for most pages that don't have a doctype.

You've added a doctype that is XHTML 1.0 Strict. You're probably going to get a lot of errors trying to validate as XHTML 1.0 Strict. First, there will be things that HTML allows, but XHTML doesn't. Second, there will be things that (X)HTML Transitional allows, but (X)HTML Strict doesn't.

Try adding a doctype for HTML 4.01 Transitional. Then you'll get a validator report that is almost the same as the one you got with no doctype.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Oregon Girl
post Jan 17 2010, 01:31 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-January 10
Member No.: 10,848



Darin~That was amazing!!! It brought me down from 847 errors to just 82 errors and 12 warnings. It still would seem high to most people, but when you are looking at what it was compared to now its not quite as intimidating.

This is the doctype I used and hope it's the same one you were referring to.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">


I do have one more question if you wouldn't mind answering for me. Regarding this error:


Line 55, Column 79: Attribute "TOPMARGIN" is not a valid attribute. Did you mean "marginwidth" or "marginheight"?
…bg_blue.jpg" LEFTMARGIN=0 TOPMARGIN=0 rightmargin="0" bottommargin="0" MARGI



Why would "TOPMARGIN" not be valid? I thought maybe it was because of the capitalization but when I changed it I still recieved the same response.

Thanks!

Nancy

This post has been edited by Oregon Girl: Jan 17 2010, 01:32 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 17 2010, 02:16 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,403
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Because it isn't defined in the HTML 4.01 standard or any other standard. As said, topmargin and its pals are proprietary "extensions", invented by this or that browser vendor (Microsoft and Netscape respectively in this case) and mostly understood only by their own browser. There is no reason to use any of that margin stuff anymore, since one line in your style sheet removes the page margins.

CODE
body   { margin: 0; padding: 0 }
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Oregon Girl
post Jan 17 2010, 07:03 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-January 10
Member No.: 10,848



QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 17 2010, 02:16 AM) *

Because it isn't defined in the HTML 4.01 standard or any other standard. As said, topmargin and its pals are proprietary "extensions", invented by this or that browser vendor (Microsoft and Netscape respectively in this case) and mostly understood only by their own browser. There is no reason to use any of that margin stuff anymore, since one line in your style sheet removes the page margins.

CODE
body   { margin: 0; padding: 0 }


Thanks Pandy~This coding is a complicated battle for me. wacko.gif

I understand the part with the browser vendor's where certain code will be picked up better by them.


But I'm not sure I follow the one line in my style sheet removes the page margins. Does that mean all I need is the code you gave me above in place of what what I already have?

Again, I appriciate your help very much!

This post has been edited by Oregon Girl: Jan 17 2010, 07:05 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 17 2010, 07:15 PM
Post #8


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,403
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



According to your markup you have two style sheets. I didn't check if they are really there.
CODE
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://www.venere.com/common/styles/wwwroot/vac_box.css">
<LINK HREF="style.css" TYPE="text/css" REL="stylesheet">


You open one of them and paste the line above in, exactly as I wrote it. You do not place it in the body tag as you've already found out. Well, you can, but then you need to use a style attribute and you have to do it on every page instead of just once if you use it in an external style sheet. I don't remember what margin stuff you had there originally, but it will replace all that.

You may also want to read this http://htmlhelp.com/reference/css/.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Oregon Girl
post Jan 17 2010, 07:16 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-January 10
Member No.: 10,848



I just tried the code you gave me but it put this above my header when previewed it on a browser:

{ margin: 0; padding: 0 } onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m1tours_over.jpg','images/m5accommodations_over.jpg','images/m6whattodo_over.jpg','images/m1tours_over_.jpg','images/m2hotels_over_.jpg','images/m3reviews_over_.jpg','images/m4travelguides_over_.jpg','images/m5cruises_over_.jpg','images/m5_5tourist_offices_over_.jpg','images/m6traveltips_over_.jpg')">

This is how the code originally was created:

<BODY BGCOLOR=#FFFFFF background="images/bg_blue.jpg" LEFTMARGIN=0 TOPMARGIN=0 rightmargin="0" bottommargin="0" MARGINWIDTH=0 MARGINHEIGHT=0 onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m1tours_over.jpg','images/m5accommodations_over.jpg','images/m6whattodo_over.jpg','images/m1tours_over_.jpg','images/m2hotels_over_.jpg','images/m3reviews_over_.jpg','images/m4travelguides_over_.jpg','images/m5cruises_over_.jpg','images/m5_5tourist_offices_over_.jpg','images/m6traveltips_over_.jpg')">

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 17 2010, 10:29 PM
Post #10


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,403
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Read my post above again. You aren't supposed to put it in the HTML. You are supposed to put it in one of the two style sheets (.css files) you already have.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2019 - 06:54 PM