The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dropdown list of countries in form element
Forca
post Feb 10 2017, 12:38 AM
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 29-April 16
Member No.: 24,203



Hi

I'm busy with a registration page for my clients. I'm using the form element. How do I get the dropdown list of countries? I sure do not want to create one from scratch.

I'm looking for the <input> element that has this all pre-configured and I can just copy into my form element.

Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Feb 10 2017, 07:22 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



This is usually done with a SELECT menu, not INPUT. There's no HTML element that does it automatically, but there are plenty of code examples written by others, e.g. http://www.textfixer.com/tutorials/country-dropdowns.php
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 10 2017, 07:27 AM
Post #3


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Find a list of all countries. Use your editor's Find & Replace function to get them one on each row. Use it again to replace each line break with </option>[line break character]<option>. Then fix the very first and last tags.

Or view source at a site that uses such a dropdown and steal it.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 10 2017, 07:29 AM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Duh. Obviously I type too slow. blush.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Forca
post Feb 15 2017, 11:49 PM
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 29-April 16
Member No.: 24,203



I got the list easy enough. Thank you. But can one get the <select> tag embedded inside an <input> tag so that the select tag provides all the options for that particular input? Like here, I have an input of type = "text" and name = "country". I want the country field to be populated by means of the select tag. How can this be done?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 16 2017, 12:50 AM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No. You can't use a form control inside another. Why do you want the text input? You can achieve the look like this.

HTML
<select name="country">
<option selected disabled>Country</option>
<option>Sweden</option>
<option>France</option>
</select>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Forca
post Feb 16 2017, 08:29 PM
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 29-April 16
Member No.: 24,203



It works real good. Thanks pandy. I've learnt that the name attribute in the select or input tag is the key. The option value attribute gets assigned to the select name attribute.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 16 2017, 11:36 PM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Yes, the name of SELECT is paired with the value of the selected OPTION. OPTION can't have name. Or if there is no value as in my example above, the text content is used (Sweden, France). So often a value attribute isn't necessary.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Forca
post Feb 17 2017, 02:58 PM
Post #9


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 29-April 16
Member No.: 24,203



QUOTE
OPTION can't have name. Or if there is no value as in my example above, the text content is used (Sweden, France). So often a value attribute isn't necessary.


I did not know that. Thanks.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:49 AM