The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Header/Logo Link, How to change my header/logo to a link.
richnlp
post Jun 10 2012, 11:33 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 8-March 12
From: Chicago
Member No.: 16,661



Hi, how can I make my header/logo a link to my homepage? Below is some sample code. The image I need to make into a link is in bold. Site: Chicago Web Design
image name: topBanner.jpg

<body>
<!-- top wrapper -->
<div id="topWrapper">
<div id="topBannerWrapper">
<div id="topBanner">
<div id="hmenuWrapper">
<div id="hmenu">
<ul>
<li id="current" style="border:none">
<a href="#" shape="rect">Home</a>
</li>
<li>
<a href="#" shape="rect">Services</a>
</li>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Jun 11 2012, 02:14 AM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I don't think you want to link the entire topBanner DIV, just the logo. But since you used that as a background-image, you can't. Resize the image, to get rid of the empty space, and use the image as an inline element. Then you can turn it into a link.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
richnlp
post Jun 15 2012, 02:28 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 8-March 12
From: Chicago
Member No.: 16,661



QUOTE(Frederiek @ Jun 11 2012, 02:14 AM) *

I don't think you want to link the entire topBanner DIV, just the logo. But since you used that as a background-image, you can't. Resize the image, to get rid of the empty space, and use the image as an inline element. Then you can turn it into a link.


Thanks for the help. Can you instruct me on how to use the image as an inline element and then link it?
Would you recommend even turning the logo into a link? As in, will it make a difference on search engines?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Jun 15 2012, 06:39 AM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



Please see the FAQ entry How do I link an image to something?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 07:13 AM