The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help with print preview
blade301
post Oct 14 2006, 08:59 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 14-October 06
Member No.: 441



Let me start off by saying i am pretty new to html. I just created a website and for some reason when you go to one of the pages and hit print preview it just keeps counting up pages. It only happens on one page. It only happens in Internet Explorer and not in firefox. The site is wwww.integratedpeaksolutions.com/business.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Oct 15 2006, 04:50 AM
Post #2


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,653
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



It seems to be a bug caused by the two high images (1 and 3) in the first table row:

CODE
<table width="761" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="Table_01">
    <tr>
        <td rowspan="10">
            <img src="images/template_01.gif" width="14" height="2101" alt=""></td>
        <td colspan="4">
            <img src="images/template_02.gif" width="725" height="21" alt=""></td>
        <td rowspan="10">
            <img src="images/template_03.gif" width="21" height="2097" alt=""></td>
        <td>
            <img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="21" alt=""></td>
    </tr>


My advice is that you simplify the table layouts on the page: you only need a single table with 1 or 2 columns. Borders etc can be done with CSS: http://htmlhelp.com/reference/css/
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
blade301
post Oct 15 2006, 05:46 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 14-October 06
Member No.: 441



Thanks for the advice on the size. I changed the size on the images to the same size as the ones on the other pages and it still does the same thing. I am also trying to learn css, its a very slow process, seeing how i work alot. BUt I will get it one day. Any other ideas on the problem? I would like to get that problem fixed and then take some time a redo it all. New design and layouts. Thanks

This post has been edited by blade301: Oct 15 2006, 05:47 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Oct 15 2006, 04:23 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Can't help because the preview has vanished from my IE. blink.gif

So just a question. Is this a problem with the preview only or does it happen when you really print too?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
blade301
post Oct 15 2006, 06:39 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 14-October 06
Member No.: 441



I can not get it to print. Its weird it only happens on that one page. Not the others.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Peter1968
post Oct 16 2006, 02:51 AM
Post #6


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 23-September 06
Member No.: 213



Counts up non-existent pages in IE 7.0 as well.

What happens if you remove the javscript pre-loading?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Oct 16 2006, 04:16 AM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,653
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(Peter1968 @ Oct 16 2006, 09:51 AM) *

What happens if you remove the javscript pre-loading?


Doesn't help for me. But I must correct what I wrote above about image heights: even if you remove the height the bug remains if the image files are loaded (though it appeared to work before), so you must actually change HEIGHT attributes of the IMG elements loading http://www.integratedpeaksolutions.com/ima...template_01.gif and http://www.integratedpeaksolutions.com/ima...template_03.gif. 912 or less was the limit when I tested.

Of course the real solution to the OP's problem is to use a CSS border or tiling background-image instead of stretching out inline images like this.

Also the print preview crops part of the right margin, probably due to the fixed-width table.




User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
blade301
post Oct 16 2006, 09:56 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 14-October 06
Member No.: 441



Thanks for all the help. The problem is fixed now. The images and table was removed and it works fine now. biggrin.gif Now its time for me to learn to code better and learn some css. THANK YOU EVERYONE
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Peter1968
post Oct 17 2006, 01:37 AM
Post #9


Serious Coder
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 23-September 06
Member No.: 213



It was a table that threw it for a loop? Wow, and IE 7.0 is about to go live...
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 01:17 AM