The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> uploading site using a php based server
Chocolate
post Oct 31 2008, 02:10 AM
Post #1


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 27-September 08
Member No.: 6,752



hi

i installed apache , mysql , php in system. and i set my document root to c:\site. now when i type localhost in the browser. it is taking me to the index.php page. but, i can't acess the site from any other system eventhough i type the right ip address. please tell me how i can i solve this.

Chcolate
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies
geoffmerritt
post Dec 23 2008, 06:44 PM
Post #2


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 23-December 08
From: Adelaide
Member No.: 7,394



wow... you don't mention whether you are using a linux or windows system.

I have my own linux server linked to to a static ip address which has port redirection through my router to the pc's internal ip address, the pc is using debian etch 4 and running a free off the shelf lamp (Linux, Apache, Mysql, PHP) system called ISPConfig .

Where i am heading with this is that ISP Config has an easy to use interface which configures all the settings to host one or multiple websites on your server.

They provide a step by step instruction on how to set up your computer to run the software.

This post has been edited by geoffmerritt: Dec 23 2008, 06:44 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
imort
post Jun 18 2016, 07:52 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-June 16
Member No.: 24,338



QUOTE(geoffmerritt @ Dec 24 2008, 05:44 AM) *

I have my own linux server linked to to a static ip address which has port redirection through my router to the pc's internal ip address, the pc is using debian etch 4 and running a free off the shelf lamp (Linux, Apache, Mysql, PHP) system called ISPConfig .
Where i am heading with this is that ISP Config has an easy to use interface which configures all the settings to host one or multiple websites on your server.
They provide a step by step instruction on how to set up your computer to run the software.


I'd used a ISPConfig few times and it's good
But I'm using the ServerSuit now and it's really good for me

I can manage my server using any device starting from my smartphone to the tablet or iPad and it didn't require any software installed on my server.
Few clicks for the LAMP installation that's all and I'm ready!

I'm still using a console much of the time but why don't use web interface for most trivial jobs instead of it?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Posts in this topic
Chocolate   uploading site using a php based server   Oct 31 2008, 02:10 AM
Christian J   Do you want to serve pages to the whole WWW (not j...   Oct 31 2008, 06:35 AM
Chocolate   Do you want to serve pages to the whole WWW (not ...   Oct 31 2008, 07:32 AM
Chocolate   is it possible? Chocolate   Nov 1 2008, 01:44 AM
pandy   Do you have a hardware firewall? A router?   Nov 1 2008, 01:53 AM
Chocolate   sorry for this. what r they. what type of hardwar...   Nov 1 2008, 02:20 AM
pandy   No, you don't need them for this, but if you h...   Nov 1 2008, 03:05 AM
Chocolate   i have modem based hi speed internet connection. t...   Nov 1 2008, 03:12 AM
Chocolate   without anything you mentioned above can i upload ...   Nov 1 2008, 03:21 AM
pandy   You mean if you can serve it, I think. Yes, you ca...   Nov 1 2008, 04:29 AM
Chocolate   yes iam running apache right now.   Nov 1 2008, 04:34 AM
pandy   I can see your IP number, so I tried and there...   Nov 1 2008, 04:52 AM
Chocolate   actually that's no the original system. this i...   Nov 1 2008, 08:00 AM
pandy   Well, don't you remember what changes you...   Nov 1 2008, 08:11 AM
Christian J   how to know that i have limited access to localho...   Nov 1 2008, 06:07 PM
Chocolate   christian i changed the server name to localhost. ...   Nov 1 2008, 09:34 PM
pandy   No no, don't do that. Search through httpd.co...   Nov 2 2008, 07:56 AM
Christian J   Search through httpd.conf and apache2.conf if you...   Nov 2 2008, 09:03 AM
pandy   The example uses 'deny from all'. We are...   Nov 2 2008, 09:12 AM
Christian J   christian i changed the server name to localhost....   Nov 2 2008, 08:40 AM
Chocolate   there are many "deny". but i can't f...   Nov 2 2008, 08:45 AM
pandy   there are many "deny". but i can't ...   Nov 2 2008, 09:05 AM
Chocolate   try visiting www.chocolate.com chocolate   Nov 2 2008, 08:53 AM
pandy   Oh no! I'm doomed! You've destroye...   Nov 2 2008, 09:03 AM
Frederiek   I get to see the site (Safari/Mac), if that is of ...   Nov 2 2008, 02:41 PM
Chocolate   Pandy, here is what i have Order allow,deny All...   Nov 2 2008, 09:24 PM
Chocolate   frederiek if you have typed chocolate.com. it will...   Nov 3 2008, 02:25 AM
Frederiek   That's what I did, as you said we should try. ...   Nov 3 2008, 03:48 AM
Chocolate   that was a small mistake chocolate   Nov 3 2008, 04:47 AM
Chocolate   ok i want to put a full stop to this post. i don...   Nov 3 2008, 07:44 AM
Chocolate   guys while installing the apache type your server ...   Nov 5 2008, 10:46 AM
geoffmerritt   wow... you don't mention whether you are usin...   Dec 23 2008, 06:44 PM
imort   I have my own linux server linked to to a static ...   Jun 18 2016, 07:52 AM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th March 2019 - 10:25 PM