The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Inspect Source Basics, Two Items: Output fail and Accessibility
Lucas65
post Jul 1 2018, 07:39 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-June 18
Member No.: 26,664



Noob!! When I inspect a page source, say wikipedia.org, my first experience, I find the DOM element for title, double click it, and replace it with "My Wikipedia," Then I hit Enter. However, there is no change in the output sample page. If I refresh, my edit disappears from the source code. I have failed both on Chrome and Edge. What am I doing wrong/

Also, I am low vision and I am having an accessibility issue. If I view "page source," no problem, I can CTRL+. But when I am doing "Inspect Source" and looking at HTML5 DOM elements, CTRL+ fails. I have checked through menus and queried Help. I can find no way to increase the font size to read the code. It is so small for me that I have to hand hold a magnifying glass.

Thank you for any assistance!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
CharlesEF
post Jul 1 2018, 08:15 PM
Post #2


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,549
Joined: 27-April 13
From: Edinburg, Texas
Member No.: 19,088



Since you didn't say which browser you are using I can't help you. But, Firefox does support Ctrl + to increase font size when inspecting an element.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jul 2 2018, 09:08 AM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,966
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(Lucas65 @ Jul 2 2018, 02:39 AM) *

Noob!! When I inspect a page source, say wikipedia.org, my first experience, I find the DOM element for title, double click it, and replace it with "My Wikipedia," Then I hit Enter. However, there is no change in the output sample page.

Worked for me in new versions of Edge and Vivaldi (Chromium-based).

QUOTE
If I refresh, my edit disappears from the source code.

That's normal I guess, reloading restores the original source.

QUOTE
I have failed both on Chrome and Edge. What am I doing wrong/

Are you sure you've edited the right element? Sometimes content doesn't appear where you might think on a web page due to the CSS layout. It could also be that you've edited an element's attribute value instead of its text node.

QUOTE
Also, I am low vision and I am having an accessibility issue. If I view "page source," no problem, I can CTRL+. But when I am doing "Inspect Source" and looking at HTML5 DOM elements, CTRL+ fails.

Works for me in Edge and Vivaldi. Ctrl + Scrollwheel does not work though. Also make sure you've focused the Inspector windows and not the web page.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Lucas65
post Jul 2 2018, 05:05 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-June 18
Member No.: 26,664



QUOTE(CharlesEF @ Jul 1 2018, 09:15 PM) *

Since you didn't say which browser you are using I can't help you. But, Firefox does support Ctrl + to increase font size when inspecting an element.



Sorry about my omission. I used Edge and Chrome. I will re-check both of these and note Firefox for future reference (not on my computer at this time). Thank you.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Lucas65
post Jul 2 2018, 05:21 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-June 18
Member No.: 26,664



[quote name='Christian J' date='Jul 2 2018, 10:08 AM' post='135927']
[quote name='Lucas65' post='135923' date='Jul 2 2018, 02:39 AM']
Noob!! When I inspect a page source, say wikipedia.org, my first experience, I find the DOM element for title, double click it, and replace it with "My Wikipedia," Then I hit Enter. However, there is no change in the output sample page.
[/quote]
Worked for me in new versions of Edge and Vivaldi (Chromium-based).

Thank you for your efforts to corroborate my failures. CTRL+ is now working on the output for DOM elements in Edge and Chrome, so this must have been a one-off glitch on my part

BTW, I like the default UI rendering of Edge better than I do Chrome's. So that tells me that different browsers render the code UI differently. When I get back to my Linux computer (using a friend's on Windows now), I'm going to try a bunch of browsers: Firefox, Chrome, Chromium, Vivaldi, and some of the various Linux browsers to see how they render. I could then find my favorite browser from a dev point of view, I am realizing.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jul 3 2018, 05:37 AM
Post #6


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 7,966
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



You could also try the "classic" Opera 12.18, it has a lot of great features even though it's not developed anymore.
https://ftp.opera.com/pub/opera/win/1218/int/
http://matejhorvat.si/en/unfiled/opera12.htm

The newer Opera 15 and later is a completely different browser, in fact Vivaldi is more similar to the old one.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2018 - 04:35 AM