The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Youtube Video player not showing
Angel(X)Wings
post Apr 12 2012, 01:10 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-April 12
Member No.: 16,904



I don't understand, I'm trying to add a Youtube video to some pages and no matter what code I try, in any browser, the player doesn't show up, but in the source code, the video code is there.

One of the pages I'm working on is: http://www.southport-rigging.com/browse.cf...fws/4,9644.html

At the bottom there's supposed to be this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ShLpnymXeo

I've tried <object> tags, <embed> tags, and <iframe> tags. I keep checking in firefox and ie7. My boss for this project insists that not everyone keeps their browsers updated so to update ours just to see the video is moot. It needs to work in older versions and newer versions of the main browsers.

If anyone can help, that'd be much appreciated. thanks!
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 12 2012, 01:20 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Something, probably the editor you use, has converted the HTML quotes to the entity, &quot; .


CODE
<embed width=&quot;500&quot; height=&quot;284&quot; src=&quot;http://www.youtube.com/embed/1ShLpnymXeo&quot; type=&quot;application/x-shockwave-flash&quot;></embed>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
jimlongo
post Apr 12 2012, 02:21 PM
Post #3


This is My Life
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,128
Joined: 24-August 06
From: t-dot
Member No.: 16



The code youtube gives me uses an iframe instead of an embed tag.

CODE
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/1ShLpnymXeo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Use that one (with proper quotes). The embed tag even with the quotes fixed still doesn't display.

http://rdiv.com/jungle/testUtube

This post has been edited by jimlongo: Apr 12 2012, 02:28 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Apr 13 2012, 01:31 AM
Post #4


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



If you check the "Use old embed code" checkbox at Youtube, you get this code, which works (tested by pasting that in your sample page in place of your embed code):

CODE
<object width="560" height="315"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/1ShLpnymXeo?version=3&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/1ShLpnymXeo?version=3&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="560" height="315" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Angel(X)Wings
post Apr 13 2012, 10:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-April 12
Member No.: 16,904



@Frederiek: the old embed code does the same thing, I've certainly tried several times. It doesn't show up.
@jimlongo: good suggestion, except while the iframe shows up, it doesn't show me a player or even a link to a player, it gives me the index page in the iframe.

@Pandy: You confirmed what I suspected. Do you have any ideas what I can use to de-convert the quotes? or convert the quotes back?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Apr 13 2012, 10:24 AM
Post #6


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



I was talking about Jim's test page>

FYI, I have Flash content disabled by default through a Safari extension, but clicking on one enables it.

On your page, clicking the place where the video should be, first a message is displayed saying that a plug-in is missing. I have the latest Flash player installed (updated today).

Where do those double quotes come from? What are you using to create your pages?
I manually got rid of them, but even then, the movie couldn't load.
Then I pasted the code from my reply above and it worked.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Angel(X)Wings
post Apr 13 2012, 11:48 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-April 12
Member No.: 16,904



I use a basic notepad to make the code markup and it gets imported through a program called CounterPoint v.7.518. It then gets uploaded to an online partner program called CPOnline. It's a bit out dated, imo, but everything has been done through this and to try and find a cheap program to move everything through is too much work right now.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 13 2012, 01:21 PM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Just delete the entities and type quotation marks. Or use Find & Replace if it's this way throughout your files.

Maybe you've turned on some setting to make the program convert the quotes. I don't think it has been doing it all along. Then your pages wouldn't have worked.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Angel(X)Wings
post Apr 25 2012, 12:44 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-April 12
Member No.: 16,904



I finally got a solution for my problem.
For anyone in the future using counterpoint: replace all " (double quotation mark) with ' (single quotation mark) and counterpoint will automatically make it a " (double quotation mark). also, iframe seems to have worked better than an <object> tag.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
script_monkey
post May 2 2012, 03:00 PM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 2-May 12
Member No.: 17,029



next time just use NOTEPAD for all your coding. Text editors and HTML editors tend to screw everything up.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 06:54 PM