The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Forms not submitting (only in FF, works in IE + safari), The forms submit, and the user is taken to the redirect page, but the
shawnhoffman
post Mar 31 2011, 03:48 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 14,244



I have an issue with a non-profit website I help out with. I am a bit of a novice designer, but these forms were working in multiple browsers until somewhat recently. It has been discovered that this form and others on the website have not been working and I narrowed it down to only not working in firefox (or perhaps more, but they work in IE and safari). The code for the form is posted and you can see the whole thing at :

http://www.btci.org/forms/general/contact2.html

^^ I made some changes to this version, the original is http://www.btci.org/forms/general/contact.html

I am also having issues with this: http://www.btci.org/forms/conferences/bf_s...hipappform.html

and possibly others. I am guessing that whatever the problem is, it is site-wide. AGain, forms are going through just fine from safari and IE, but not through FF. Any tips and hints are welcomed. Thanks in advance!

-Shawn

CODE
<form method="post" id="btcicontact" name="btcicontact" action="../../FPFormHandler/FormHandler.aspx">
<input id="to" type="hidden" value="btci@btci.org" name="to" />
<input id="from" type="hidden" value="Wmaster@btci.org" name="from" />
<input id="subject" type="hidden" name="subject" value="BTCI Contact Us Form" />
<input id="confirmpage" type="hidden" name="confirmpage" value="../forms/general/contact_response.html" />

<table border="0" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2">
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">First Name</td>

                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="first_name" type="text" size="50" name="first_name" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Last Name</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="last_name"  type="text" size="50" name="last_name" />
                  </td>
                </tr>

                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Academic or<br />
                    Corporate Affiliation</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="aca_affil" type="text" size="50" name="aca_affil" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Address</td>

                  <td valign="top">
                    <textarea id="address" name="address" cols="50" rows="2" wrap="VIRTUAL"></textarea>
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">City</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="city" type="text" size="50" name="city" />
                  </td>

                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">State</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="state" type="text" size="50" name="state" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">ZIP/Postal Code</td>

                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="zip" type="text" size="50" name="zip" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Country</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="country" type="text" size="50" name="country" />
                  </td>
                </tr>

                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Phone</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="telephone" type="text" size="50" name="telephone" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Fax</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="fax" type="text" size="50" name="fax" />

                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">E-mail</td>
                  <td valign="top">
                    <input id="email" type="text" size="50" name="email" />
                  </td>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                  <td valign="top">Comments:</td>

                  <td valign="top">
                    <textarea id="comments" rows="5" name="Comments" cols="50"></textarea>
                  </td>
                </tr>
              </table><br />
                <p align="center"><input id="submit" type="submit" value="Submit Form" name="Submit" />&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
                <input id="reset" type="reset" value="Cancel" name="Cancel" /></p>
                  
</form>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Apr 1 2011, 01:05 AM
Post #2


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



In what way is it "not working"?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
shawnhoffman
post Apr 1 2011, 07:21 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 14,244



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Apr 1 2011, 08:05 AM) *

In what way is it "not working"?


When the form is submitted through the FF browser, the information is not received. The user is taken to the redirect page, but the form is not sent anywhere. It does, however, work in IE and safari.

Thank for the reply.

-Shawn
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 1 2011, 08:03 PM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



That's strange to say the least. Once submitted it shouldn't matter what browser was used. blink.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
wgabrie
post Apr 1 2011, 08:07 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 11-July 10
Member No.: 12,279



I don't know what side of the web an "aspx" script is run on. Is "FormHandler.aspx" a client side or server-side script?

If the script is client-side it could have been cached by some of the browsers you used to test the form.

Could the script file have remained broken for a long time but the browsers used for the test weren't aware that the script was broken, because the browsers long-ago cached the script?

Or maybe the situation was reversed, Was the script once broken, and the broken cache was stored in Firefox, but later the script worked and other browsers received the later version that worked?

Or, perhaps, there are some major server-side apache redirections going on (perhaps the web host switched between, or upgraded, their servers, or they (or you) have browser redirection scripts), or the server stopped supporting certain code engines, or an upgrade of a server-side code processor caused previous versions of some specs. to be incompatible for your website, or, there is a server-side cache program running.

This post has been edited by wgabrie: Apr 1 2011, 08:28 PM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 1 2011, 08:31 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,716
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



It's server side. huh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Apr 2 2011, 09:31 AM
Post #7


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,630
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I'd let the server-side script FormHandler.aspx print out what's actually submitted to it, or any errors that may occur.

Maybe not related, but a hidden field has been changed from

CODE
<input id="confirmpage" type="hidden" name="confirmpage" value="../forms/general/contact_response.html" />


to

CODE
<input type="hidden" name="ConfirmPage" value="../forms/general/contact_response.html" id="subject" />

(note the changed ID and the different case in the NAME attribute value). Furthermore the ID "subject" is already used in a previous field.

In both cases the VALUE attribute uses a relative URL as its value:

CODE
value="../forms/general/contact_response.html"

Where is that URL resolved --in a server-side script in FormHandler.aspx?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:31 AM