The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Spaces between rows
Moraelin
post Sep 2 2008, 05:23 AM
Post #1


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



As you can see here- http://www.moraelin.co.uk/ I am having a problem with unwanted spaces between my rows.

Could someone tell me where I'm going wrong as I cant seem to get rid of them.
Here is the page html.

<body bgcolor=#000000 leftmargin=0 topmargin=0 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0>
<table width="569" height="540" border="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td><img src="1.jpg" width="569" height="416" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="2.jpg" /><img src="3.jpg" width="51" height="50" /><img src="4.jpg" width="50" height="50" /><img src="5.jpg" width="49" height="50" /><img src="6.jpg" width="53" height="50" /><img src="7.jpg" width="49" height="50" /><img src="8.jpg" width="54" height="50" /><img src="9.jpg" width="48" height="50" /><img src="10.jpg" width="44" height="50" /><img src="11.jpg" width="49" height="50" /><img src="12.jpg" width="67" height="50" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="13.jpg" width="569" height="73" /></td>
</tr>

</table>

</body>
</html>
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
poojak
post Sep 2 2008, 05:42 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-August 08
Member No.: 6,331



Hi,

Think you just need to add cellspacing="0" to your <table> tag. and it will work fine.

Pooja
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Moraelin
post Sep 2 2008, 05:52 AM
Post #3


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



Thanks Poojak, it made the gap between the rows narrower. I also added cellpadding="0".
But there is still a space as you can see.
Maybe its my images that are slightly the wrong size???

Could someone also tell me how to have the table in the middle of my page rather than at the top?

This post has been edited by Moraelin: Sep 2 2008, 05:59 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 08:49 AM
Post #4


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



What browser do you see this in? I see no gap in IE6 and FF.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Moraelin
post Sep 2 2008, 09:32 AM
Post #5


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



In IE7 I see a gap (just a thin black line) above the tv buttons.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 09:36 AM
Post #6


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Don't see it in IE7 either. Do you mean the 5 buttons down below?
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Moraelin
post Sep 2 2008, 10:13 AM
Post #7


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



Yes a thin line running along just above the 5 buttons in a row.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Sep 2 2008, 10:45 AM
Post #8


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,312
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



That sounds like the problem described in Eric Meyer's Images, Tables, and Mysterious Gaps.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 11:28 AM
Post #9


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Does IE7 display that behavior?

Is this what you mean?

Attached Image

I think it's in the image(s), maybe an effect of the pattern. I'm not good at seeing small things like this, but I don't think the line is continuous. I can't see it at the right side of the image.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 11:35 AM
Post #10


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Funny, the line is exaggerated in the downsized image and much more obvious.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 11:43 AM
Post #11


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I was wrong. Changed the background color to red and the line became red, so it's a gap alraight. Can't make it go away though.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 11:48 AM
Post #12


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Ah! Remove the height attributes from TABLE and TD. biggrin.gif

Sidenote. I once set up a webcam in my kitchem to show off my kitten to friends. It was called P*ssy Cam. happy.gif

*) The word sensor doesn't allow some synonyms to kitten. angry.gif
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Sep 2 2008, 03:02 PM
Post #13


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



biggrin.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 2 2008, 04:13 PM
Post #14


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Thank heavens I didn't have rooster too! ohmy.gif
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 3 2008, 09:09 AM
Post #15


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE(pandy @ Sep 2 2008, 06:48 PM) *

Ah! Remove the height attributes from TABLE and TD. biggrin.gif


Didn't it work? blink.gif
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Sep 3 2008, 01:44 PM
Post #16


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Are you having a conversation with yourself, Pandy? laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Sep 3 2008, 01:54 PM
Post #17


Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 18,353
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



No, I just want to know if the OP tried it and if it worked.
User is online!PM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Frederiek
post Sep 3 2008, 02:03 PM
Post #18


Programming Fanatic
********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,146
Joined: 23-August 06
From: Europe
Member No.: 9



Sure, I understand that. But I couldn't help myself having fun over your monologue.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Moraelin
post Sep 3 2008, 03:47 PM
Post #19


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



Thanks Pandy.

I removed the height value from the TABLE and the gap disappeared.
You're a star!!!

Was this a textbook error i made? Do TABLE lines not require height values?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Moraelin
post Sep 3 2008, 03:57 PM
Post #20


Novice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 6,552



As you have no doubt guessed, I'm a novice. So thanks for taking the time ppl.

How do I get the table to sit at the bottom of the page rather than the top? blink.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th August 2019 - 07:05 AM