The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> need help making my menu work with IE(6,7)
KevinM
post Dec 4 2009, 10:48 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,499

I can't get the menu on the left on this site to work with IE6. I'm not much of a web designer; most of what I've learned has been thru trial and error, digging thru other peoples sites to see how they've done things, etc. (no formal training is what I'm saying) so I'm not very good at the art of hacking the css or using embedded js to make IE6 behave as I want it to. If you look at the page with Firefox you'll see how each item in the menu cascades open (sometimes 3-4 layers deep) as you hover over certain items. Well, that doesn't happen with IE6 (and with IE7 as you get down into deeper layers of the menu the item becomes disconnected from it's parent menu and then you can't click on it). Can somebody tell me what I need to do to get this working?

Thanks.

Kevin
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Dec 4 2009, 03:13 PM
Post #2

Don't like donuts. Don't do MySpace.

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

IE6 only supports :hover for links.
User is offlinePM
KevinM
post Dec 4 2009, 10:32 PM
Post #3

Pandy,

Thanks for the reply. I think I must have some competing css. I have this in a file called template.css (that pertains to col1 "stuff"):

/*------------------ Content ------------------*/

#col1 {
width: 200px;
height: 100%;
position: absolute;
border-top: 1px solid #000;
background-color: #6D9AC8;
left: 0;
padding-top: 5px;
z-index: 1000;
}

#col1 ul.mainmenu,
#col1 ul.mainmenu ul {
width: 187px; /* sets the size of the menu blocks */
/* puts a black border around the menu blocks */
/*background-color: #ffffdf;*/ /* makes the menu blocks white - a bg-color MUST be included for IE to work properly! */
padding-left: 0px; /* stops the usual indent from ul */