The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> WebEasy Pro 8 Scrolling Tab Text, Please help...
alphasomega
post Apr 22 2014, 08:27 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-April 14
Member No.: 20,761



I am currently using WebEasy Pro 8 after first building my site with CoffeeCup software. I used the folling code in CoffeeCup without error:

<script type='text/javascript'>
//<![CDATA[
msg = "";
msg = " Internet Based Computer Repair " + msg;pos = 0;
function scrollMSG() {
document.title = msg.substring(pos, msg.length) + msg.substring(0, pos); pos++;
if (pos > msg.length) pos = 0
window.setTimeout("scrollMSG()",200);
}
scrollMSG();
//]]>
</script>

But I seem to be having a lot of difficulty getting the text "Internet Based Computer Repair" to start scrolling in the browser's tab. Can somebody please tell me how to do it? I've spent at least 3 hours trying. sad.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 22 2014, 08:38 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Are you talking about how it looks in your editor's preview or in a real browser? Your script works for me.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
alphasomega
post Apr 22 2014, 10:46 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-April 14
Member No.: 20,761



QUOTE(pandy @ Apr 22 2014, 08:38 PM) *

Are you talking about how it looks in your editor's preview or in a real browser? Your script works for me.


Yes I am talking about how it looks in the actual browser. I know the script works but I'm not sure that I'm putting it in the right place. I placed it in the "Head Elements" section and nothing...

Since waiting for a response I've run into a new problem as well, I should probably open a new thread since I can't find anything on the subject really but I can't for the life of me get any page but my home page centered. Everything is pulling to the left.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Apr 23 2014, 11:00 AM
Post #4


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,731
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



You could try to put it in BODY instead, but it actually runs wherever I put it, even if I put it after TITLE in HEAD. Could you link to the page maybe or at least post the whole thing here? And what browser are you using?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Apr 23 2014, 04:28 PM
Post #5


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,659
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



I'd advice against using such a script, it's terribly distracting and doesn't give a serious impression of a business site.

Also search engines may (at least in theory) frown on attempts to change the TITLE text with javascript (since it can also be used for keyword spamming).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th April 2024 - 05:10 PM