Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> All text content of a website in a single XML
ZlsetrdX
post Oct 20 2008, 06:54 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,941

I'm a newbie building my Website and also just getting into XML. I want to have all the text content of my Website in a single XML file, organized in text blocks for each section (profile, services, etc). Then marking every blocks in the XML so I can refer to each independent block from each different HTML page instead of having each block inside the HTML. I have no idea on whether this is possible or not, or how to do it. Please help!
God bless you.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Tom H.
post Oct 20 2008, 08:09 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 14

A Google search for "tidy convert to xml" might send you in the right direction.
User is offlinePM
pandy
post Oct 20 2008, 08:28 PM
Post #3

🌟Computer says no🌟

Group: WDG Moderators
Member No.: 6

Hm. I thought this was going to happen on the server? You need some program or programming anyhow.
User is offlinePM
ZlsetrdX
post Oct 21 2008, 02:23 PM
Post #4

Thanks, Tom H. However, I'm following the XHTML tutorial of W3schools so I think I'm already writing my website in XHTML.
This is my website. Sorry for my poor explanation. What I mean is like this:

1) Move all the text content of my website to mywebsite.xml, organized in text blocks corresponding to each web page
E.g.: I cut the text content from the HMTL of the "my profile" web page and paste it to the XML file as a text block under a suitable heading. By text content I mean all the text that is viewable, like "Autodidact. Freelance English-Spanish translator and style proofreader..."

2) Mark each text block in the XML
E.g.: I mark the above mentioned text block with an id, "profile"

3) Place a link in the page's HTML to the corresponding text block in mywebsite.xml, so it calls the text when the page is loaded