The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Frameset in IFrame
sorosh
post Feb 22 2009, 07:54 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-January 09
Member No.: 7,467



Hai,

I have now a iframe on my page, that is connected to a frameset and that frameset i connected to my content.

The reason that i have a frame in my iframe is because i coundt get around it because i would mess up my template. So i dont want to change this.

The problem i am having know is that i want to resize my iframe according to its content. I have found a lott of scripts that do this but i dont think that this is possible because of the frameset that are located in my iframe.

My iframe:


CODE
<iframe name="iframe" id="iframe" src="frame.html" frameborder="1" height="780" width="765">Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.</iframe>


My frameset:

CODE

<html>
    <head>
        <frameset border="1" cols="40%,60%"scrolling="no">
        <frame name="menu" src="menu.html" scrolling="no">
        <frame name="content" src="" scrolling="no">
        </frameset>
    </head>
</html>



CODE
<frame name="content" src="" scrolling="no">


Is left empty because on this right side if have a menu and on the left side comes the content when you click on the menu.

Everything works fine and i have no errors. I only want to know how i can make the iframe resize according to its content with the problem i have now.

Thanks in advancee

This post has been edited by sorosh: Feb 22 2009, 08:01 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Feb 22 2009, 10:22 AM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



I don't know, but I doubt. Wouldn't it be better to sort out why you couldn't get it to work without frames?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
sorosh
post Feb 22 2009, 11:49 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-January 09
Member No.: 7,467



i wouldn't know how...because i have my javascript menu. And my intention is when you click on a menu button the content appears on the right side of the menu....a frameset works fast and my visitors dont have to wait until the whole page loads again...

This is my page where the iframe is located:

CODE
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xml:lang="en" lang="en" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
    <title></title>
    
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
    <meta name="description" content="" />
    <meta name="keywords" content="" />
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />    
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />

    <link href="" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" />
    <link href="" rel="stylesheet" />
    <link href="" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" />

    <!--[if IE]>
      <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="" />
    <![endif]-->

    <!-- Tell the browsers about our RSS feeds -->
    <link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="" href="" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/atom+xml" title="" href="" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="" href="" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/atom+xml" title="" href="" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="" href="" />
<link rel="alternate" type="application/atom+xml" title="" href="" />


    <!-- Include visitor tracking code (if any) -->
    <script type="text/javascript" src=""></script><!-- Start Tracking Code for analytics_googleanalytics -->

<script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
<script type="text/javascript">
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-7217398-1");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>

<!-- End Tracking Code for analytics_googleanalytics -->


    
    

    

    <script type="text/javascript" src=""></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src=""></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src=""></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src=""></script>

    <script type="text/javascript">
    //<![CDATA[
    // Ensure that all product lists are the same height
    $(document).ready(function() {
        if(typeof(DesignMode) != 'undefined') {
            return;
        }
        var maxHeight = 0;
            $('.Content .ProductList li').each(function() {
                if($(this).height() > maxHeight) {
                    maxHeight = $(this).height();
                }
        });
        $('.Content .ProductList li').css('height', maxHeight);
    });
    //]]>
    </script>

</head>

<body onload=reSize()>
<div id="Container">
                    <div id="TopMenu">
            <ul style="display:none">
                <li class="HeaderLiveChat">
                    
                </li>
                <li style="display:" class="First"><a href=""></a></li>
                <li style="display:"><a href=""></a></li>
                <li style="display:"><a href=""></a></li>
                
                <li style="display:"><a href=""></a></li>
                <li style="display:">
                    <div>
                        <a href=''></a> or <a href=''></a>
                    </div>
                </li>
            </ul>
            <br class="Clear" />
        </div>
        <div id="Outer">
            <div id="Header">
                <div id="Logo">
                    <a href=""><img src="" border="0" id="LogoImage" alt="" /></a>

                </div>
                            <div id="SearchForm">
                <form action="" method="get" onsubmit="return check_small_search_form()">
                    <label for="search_query"></label>
                    <input type="text" name="search_query" id="search_query" class="Textbox" value="" />
                    <input type="image" src="" class="Button" />
                </form>
                <p>
                    <a href=""><strong></strong></a> |
                    <a href="""></a>
                </p>
            </div>

            <script type="text/javascript">
                var QuickSearchAlignment = 'left';
                var QuickSearchWidth = '232px';
                lang.EmptySmallSearch = "You forgot to enter some search keywords.";
            </script>

                <br class="Clear" />
            </div>
            <div id="Menu">
        <ul>
            <li class="First"><a href=""></a></li>
                <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>    <li class=" ">
        <a href=""><span></span></a>
        
    </li>
        </ul>
    </div>
        
    <div id="Wrapper">
        <div class="Left" id="LayoutColumn1">
                            <div class="Block CategoryList Moveable" id="SideCategoryList">
                    <h2>Section</h2>
                    <div class="BlockContent">
                        <ul>
                                <li class=""><a href=""></a>
    
    </li>    <li class=""><a href=""></a>
    
    </li>
                        </ul>
                    </div>
                </div>
            
                            <div class="Block NewsletterSubscription Moveable" id="SideNewsletterBox">
                    <h2></h2>
                    <div class="BlockContent">
                        <form action="" method="post" id="subscribe_form" name="subscribe_form">
                            <input type="hidden" name="action" value="subscribe" />
                            <label for="nl_first_name"></label>
                            <input type="text" class="Textbox" id="nl_first_name" name="nl_first_name" />
                            <label for="nl_email"></label>
                            <input type="text" class="Textbox" id="nl_email" name="nl_email" /><br />
                            <input type="image" src="h" value="Subscribe" class="Button" />
                        </form>
                    </div>
                </div>
                <script type="text/javascript">
// <!--
    $('#subscribe_form').submit(function() {
        if($('#nl_first_name').val() == '') {
            alert('You forgot to type in your first name.');
            $('#nl_first_name').focus();
            return false;
        }

        if($('#nl_email').val() == '') {
            alert('You forgot to type in your email address.');
            $('#nl_email').focus();
            return false;
        }

        if($('#nl_email').val().indexOf('@') == -1 || $('#nl_email').val().indexOf('.') == -1) {
            alert('Please enter a valid email address, such as john@example.com.');
            $('#nl_email').focus();
            $('#nl_email').select();
            return false;
        }

        // Set the action of the form to stop spammers
        $('#subscribe_form').append("<input type=\"hidden\" name=\"check\" value=\"1\" \/>");
        return true;

    });
// -->
</script>
<br>    
        </div>
        <div class="Content Wide" id="LayoutColumn2">

        <div class="Block Breadcrumb Moveable" id="PageBreadcrumb">
            <ul>
                <li><a href=""></a></li>
                <li></li>
            </ul>
        </div>
            
            <div class="Block Moveable" id="PageContent">
    <h2>Help Center</h2>

    <div class="BlockContent">
    
    <iframe name="iframe" id="iframe" src="frame.html" frameborder="1" height="780" width="765">Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.</iframe>
    
    </div>
        </div><br>
    </div>
        </div>
            <br class="Clear" />
        <div id="Footer">

            <a href=""></a></li>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>&nbsp;|&nbsp;
            <a href=""><span></span></a>
                        <br><br>Copyright &copy 2009 <a href = ""></a> All rights reserved.

            
        </div>
        <br class="Clear" />
        </div>

        
        
        
        

</div>
</body>
</html>


All the links and text to my site are removed

And the only place where i could put my iframe is here:

CODE
    <div class="BlockContent">
    
    <iframe name="iframe" id="iframe" src="frame.html" frameborder="1" height="780" width="765">Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.</iframe>
    
    </div>


Around that is my template.


I use a iframe because if i would use normale frameset then i must put the script of my frameset in the header. And if i would do that then my frameset woudnt come on the right place on the page.
So can i put my frameset in the body of my html? does anybody know a other solution?

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by sorosh: Feb 22 2009, 11:52 AM
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Darin McGrew
post Feb 22 2009, 03:12 PM
Post #4


WDG Member
********

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 8,365
Joined: 4-August 06
From: Mountain View, CA
Member No.: 3



QUOTE
Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.
At the very least, you should replace this with a link to your frame.html document. And the frameset in the frame.html document should have alternative noframes content too.
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
sorosh
post Feb 22 2009, 03:22 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-January 09
Member No.: 7,467



QUOTE(Darin McGrew @ Feb 22 2009, 03:12 PM) *

QUOTE
Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline frames.
At the very least, you should replace this with a link to your frame.html document. And the frameset in the frame.html document should have alternative noframes content too.


Thanks I will do that laugh.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2024 - 10:22 AM