The Web Design Group

... Making the Web accessible to all.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> IMPORTING HTML CODES FROM ANOTHER FILE
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 01:44 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641



I have had this issue on my mind, and never really found a suitable solution. Figured I would try again.

I am building a new website. I am always making changes that need to be applied to all the pages.

Rather than me making the changes to every single page individually,

ARE THERE ANY CODES TO ADD TO A WEB-PAGE THAT WOULD IMPORT HTML CODES FROM ANOTHER FILE?

So let say I upload a file "menu.txt" with the menu codes. So that anytime I make HTML changes to this file, it will automatically update all the web pages importing the codes on this .txt file.

I was once accomplishing this with a banner rotator CGI script, but it's not really an option with my new server.
I am open to similar creative options! smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:08 PM
Post #2


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



See http://htmlhelp.com/faq/html/design.html#include-file . smile.gif
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Christian J
post Jan 26 2009, 02:17 PM
Post #3


.
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 9,653
Joined: 10-August 06
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(Noy @ Jan 26 2009, 07:44 PM) *

I was once accomplishing this with a banner rotator CGI script, but it's not really an option with my new server.

Because the server doesn't support CGI? Does it support PHP, ASP or SSI?

QUOTE
I am open to similar creative options! smile.gif

There are also ways with javascript and/or inline frames, but server-side solutions are much better.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:21 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641




With my server, in order to use the SSI, I would have to rename all pages to .shtml --- something I would like to try and avoid.
A simple script that I would import HTML codes into a designated place on all pages would work great.

Thanks for your help! smile.gif


QUOTE(Christian J @ Jan 26 2009, 02:17 PM) *

QUOTE(Noy @ Jan 26 2009, 07:44 PM) *

I was once accomplishing this with a banner rotator CGI script, but it's not really an option with my new server.

Because the server doesn't support CGI? Does it support PHP, ASP or SSI?

QUOTE
I am open to similar creative options! smile.gif

There are also ways with javascript and/or inline frames, but server-side solutions are much better.

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:36 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641




Hi Pandy,

I have been familiar with this technique for some time now. As a matter of fact, it just worked for me now for the first time.

My concern is that it requires me to use the extension of .shtml -- is there any way to avoid this requirement?

Noy




QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 26 2009, 02:08 PM) *

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:36 PM
Post #6


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



QUOTE
With my server, in order to use the SSI, I would have to rename all pages to .shtml

Not necessarily. You can make the server parse html files for SSI (or PHP).
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:41 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641




As you can see the test worked for;
http://www.rentinsouthbeach.com/test.shtml

Failed for;
http://www.rentinsouthbeach.com/test.html
http://www.rentinsouthbeach.com/test.htm

So you are saying I can still change something on my server to make this work?

I am with Start Logic hosting, powered by vDeck.
Perhaps you know if this change is possible from my side?


QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 26 2009, 02:36 PM) *

QUOTE
With my server, in order to use the SSI, I would have to rename all pages to .shtml

Not necessarily. You can make the server parse html files for SSI (or PHP).

User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:45 PM
Post #8


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Is it an Apache server and can you use .htaccess files? If so...

CODE
AddHandler server-parsed .html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 02:53 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641




I believe it is an Apache, but I am confirming now.
I had an old .htaccess file, and edited the content to "AddHandler server-parsed .html".
Then uploaded it to the root directory of the website. However, it still did not work on the .html files.

Should I contact my tech support and ask if they can make the SSI work with .html files?
Or as you suggested; "make the server parse html files for SSI (or PHP)"?




QUOTE(pandy @ Jan 26 2009, 02:45 PM) *

Is it an Apache server and can you use .htaccess files? If so...

CODE
AddHandler server-parsed .html


User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
Noy
post Jan 26 2009, 03:55 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 09
Member No.: 7,641



Managed to figure it out. Thank you guys!

This also helped for anyone else out there;
http://hoohoo.ncsa.uiuc.edu/docs/tutorials/includes.html
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post
pandy
post Jan 27 2009, 05:26 AM
Post #11


🌟Computer says no🌟
********

Group: WDG Moderators
Posts: 20,730
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 6



Didn't 'AddHandler server-parsed' work but 'AddHandler server-parsed-html' did?
User is offlinePM
Go to the top of the page
Toggle Multi-post QuotingQuote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2024 - 02:44 AM